Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Sherman Wins Manzanita Speedway's 57th Anniversary Race
by Windy McDonald

(August 23) Even Fedex cannot deliver as fast as can Jeremy Sherman who scored his ninth win of the year in Saturday night’s Discount Tire American Sprint Car Series in Manzanita Speedway’s 57th anniversary races. Sherman started the 30 lap feature on Manzy’s half mile track on the inside of the second row and wrested the lead from Mike Martin on the seventh lap. Even several yellow flags could not keep the outcome in doubt as he held a commanding lead when he flashed under the checkered flag. Martin finished second to Sherman for the second consecutive race as he notched his eighth top five finish of the year. 

R.J. Johnson finished third and Andy Reinbold edged Nathan High for fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Thomas Ogle, Chris Bonneau, Bernie Smith, Jody Wirth and Steve Tellas. 

Charles Davis, Jr. was in the thick of the battle until he blew a left rear tire on the 20th lap but is still ranked second to Sherman in the latest points standing. 

The 16 car field was the smallest in recent memory as several drivers opted to skip the race on the half mile track. Only 14 started the feature and Mike Leslie crashed early and Josh Pelkey had mechanical problems and dropped out on the 14th lap. His 13th place finish, coupled with Reinbold’s fourth place effort, kept him seventh in the standing but is now only one point up on Reinbold. 

Davis’ night started well as he edged Martin for the win in the first eight lap heat race. He was high point driver through the heat races but his night ended early with the tire problem. Sherman ran third in the first heat with Reinbold fourth and High fifth. 

The second heat went to Pelkey, the 1997 Arizona sprint car champion, with Leslie in second, Johnson third, Bonneau fourth and Jeremy Reagles fifth. 

Sherman’s win was his 109th career win as he moved closer to fourth ranked Lealand McSpadden who has 118 victories. 

Josh Shipley went wire to wire in the Arizona mini sprint car feature for his first win of the year. His brother Kyle, the 2007 driving champion, shared a front row start with Josh and ran the entire race trying to find a way to get by. He was still second at the finish line. 

Tyler Keesler started third and finished where he started and Dustin Cormany took fourth ahead of Justin Quinn. The rest of the top ten were Paul Martin, Mike Visser, Cliff Cormany and Dennis Parks. 

Kiley Fellers, the runaway points leader, was seeking a fifth straight win and ran near the front until mechanical problems sent him to the pits in the closing laps. He finished 14th. 

Fellers won the first heat race with a drive from fifth to edge Josh Shipley, Joey Grimes, Katherine Aragon and Martin, The second heat went to Keesler with Quinn, Matt Deskins, Parks and Travis Keesler in pursuit. The final heat was won by Kyle Shipley who started in the front row and led all eight laps. Dustin Cormany was second ahead of Ryan Walter, Robbie Britton and Kurt Stults. 

Martin scored his first trophy dash win of the year by beating J. Shipley, Travis Keesler. Walter and Grimes 

Nathan High was hoping for a fourth feature win in the AMRA midgets and led the first four laps but R.J. Johnson used the high side of the one third mile track and made it payoff when he went to the lead on the fifth lap. High managed to stay close but never mounted a serious threat. Johnson, a former two time champion drove to the winner’s circle for the second time this year as he completed a clean sweep. Terry Goodwin, the points leader worked his way past High but could not offer a threat to Johnson and gave second bak to High in the closing lapes Behind Goodwin at the checkered flag were Rick Shuman, Jeff Perry and West Coast points leader Alex Bowman. 

Johnson’s first win of the night was in the trophy dash. He beat Shuman, Goodwin and Perry. It was more of the same in the heat race as he held off Goodwin, High, Shuman, Perry and Bowman. 



Main Event: (30 laps) 1. Jeremy Sherman 2.Mike Martin 3. R.J. Johnson 4. Andy Reinbold 5. Nathan High 6. Thomas Ogle 7. Chris Bonneay 8. Bernie Smith 9. Jody Wirth 10. Steve Tellas 11. Charles Davis, Jr. 12. Jeremy Reagles 13. Josh Pelkey 14. Mike Leslie (DNS-Stevie Sussex, Kevin Wolfe) 

Lap leaders: laps 1-6 Martin, laps 7-30 Sherman 

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Davis 2. Martin 3. Sherman 4. Reinbold 5. High 6. Smith 7. Wirth 8. Tellas (time: 2.39.00) 

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Pelkey 2. Leslie 3. Johnson 4. Bonneau 5. Reagles 6. Ogle 7. Sussex 8. Wolfe (no time, yellow flag) 

Arizona Race Mart Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. High 2. Reinbold 3. Martin 4. Johnson (time: 1:20.34) 


Main Event: (20 laps) 1. Josh Shipley 2. Kyle Shipley 3. Tyler Keesler 4. Dustin Cormany 5. Justin Quinn 6. Paul Martin 7. Jeff Greszler 8. Mike Visser 9. Cliff Cormany 10. Dennis Parks 11. Travis Keesler 12. Katherine Aragon 13. Ryan Walter 14. Kiley Fellers 15. Mark Miller 16. Kurt Stults 17. Joey Grimes 18. Matt Deskins 19. Brandon George (DNS Rick Alexander, Robbie Britton) 

Lap leaders: laps1-20 J. Shipley 

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Fellers 2. J. Shipley 3. Grimes 4. Aragon 5. Martin 6. Greszler 7. Miller (time: 2:11.91) 

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Tyler Keesler 2. Quinn 3. Deskins 4. Parks 5. Travis Keesler 6. Visser 7. C. Cormany 

3rd Heat: (6 laps) 1. K. Shipley 2. D. Cormany 3. Walter 4. Britton 5. Stults 6. George (DNS Alexander) 


Main Event (12 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson 2. Nathan High 3. Terry Goodwin 4. Jeff Perry 5. Rick Shuman 6. Alex Bowman 

Lap leaders: laps 1-4 High, laps 5-12 Johnson 

Heat Race: (8 laps) 1. Johnson 2. Goodwin 3. High 4. Shuman 5. Perry 6. Bowman. 

Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. Johnson 2. Shuman 3. Goodwin 4. Perry 






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR