Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Davis beats Sherman in ASCS sprints Sat. nite at Manzanita Speedway
by Windy McDonald

(July 25) Charles Davis, Jr. scored his fifth win of the year in the Discount Tire American Sprint Car Series Saturday night at Manzanita Speedway. Davis had been shut out of the winnerís circle since June 5 when Jeremy Sherman went on a four race win streak that came to an end when he finished second to Davis Saturday night. During that span Davis was involved in two crashes and finished second to Sherman in three other races.

Shon Deskins led the first 19 laps before yielding to Davis and Sherman took over second with 7 laps remaining in the 30 lap feature. Even though a yellow flag bunched the field in the closing laps Sherman had to settle for second a scant two car lengths behind Davis. It marked the fourth time Sherman has finished second to Davis and Davis has finished second to Sherman five times. Shon Deskinsí finished third after leading the first 19 laps. His third place finish was his fourth top five of the year and also his top finish. Stevie Sussex finished fourth ahead of Justin Fisher. Rounding out the top ten were Bob Ream, Jr., Lealand Michael, Mike Leslie, Andy Reinbold and Seainn Hendricsen.

Michael was the hard charger of the race with his drive from his 23rd starting berth to finish seventh. Rookie driver Zach Sawyer also had a great night with a drive from 18th to 11th.

Twenty-five sprint cars were on hand and rather than run a semi to eliminate just one car all 25 started the feature and 18 finished.

Deskins was high point man through the three heat races and rolled an eight with the toss of the die. That meant that the top eight drivers in heat race points would draw for starting berths and fittingly Shon pulled #1 for the pole. Davis started sixth and Sherman lined up on the outside of the fourth row.

R.J. Johnson continued to be king of the heat races as he started third in the first eight lapper and took the win over Deskins, who started seventh, Thomas Ogle and Josh Pelkey.

Justin Fisher, who had earlier won the Arizona Race Mart trophy dash, won the second heat. He started alongside Stevie Sussex who was on the pole and finished second ahead of Carson Ditsch and Ream. The final heat had Sherman on the pole and Davis was on the outside of the front row. Davis took the win, Sherman was second, Nathan High, up from sixth, was third ahead of Mike Leslie who lined up on the outside of the fourth row.

Kiley Fellers increased his points lead in the mini sprint cars with a wire to wire win in the 20 lap main event. It marked the sixth time this year that Fellers has won a feature race. Kurt Stults finished second and Josh Castro was third ahead of former champions Jeff Greszler and Brandon George. The rest of the top ten, in order, were Tyler Keesler, Paul Martin, J.D. Bernal, Mike Visser and Austin Quick.

The feature promised to be a showdown between Fellers and Josh Shipley who was seeking a clean sweep after winning the trophy dash and beating Fellers in the third heat. However, Shipley, who was lined up in the second row, was caught up in a skirmish at the green flag and hit the wall. His car was damaged and he failed to restart the feature.

Tyler Keesler won the first heat over Castro, George and his brother Travis Keesler. The second heat went to Stults over Justin Quinn, Garrett Guilkey and Quick. Behind Shipley and Fellers in the final heat were Kyle Shipley and Greszler.

Former champion Dennis Parks led Bernal, Visser, Cliff Cormany and Pat Wing to the checkered flag in the ten lap semi main.



Main Event: (30 laps) 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 2. Jeremy Sherman 3. Shon Deskins 4. Stevie Sussex 5. Justin Fisher 6. Bob Ream, Jr. 7. Lealand Michael 8. Mike Leslie 9. Andy Reinbold 10. Seainn Hendricsen 11. Zach Sawyer

12. Jesse Dunham 13. Nathan High 14. Thomas Ogle 15. Adam Wirth 16. Jody Wirth 17. Steve Tellas 18. Derek Sell 19. R.J. Johnson 20. Bernie Smith 21. Chris Bonneau 22. Josh Pelkey 23. Mike Martin 24. Steve Sandrolini 25. Carson Ditsch (no time)

Lap leaders: laps 1-19 Deskins, laps 20-30 Davis

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson 2. Shon Deskins 3. Thomas Ogle 4. Josh Pelkey 5. Bernie Smith 6. Jody Wirth 7. Jesse Dunham 8. Steve Sandrolini 9. Adam Wirth (time-2:04.81)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Justin Fisher 2. Stevie Sussex 3. Carson Ditsch 4. Bob Ream, Jr. 5. Andy Reinbold 6. Seainn Hendricsen 7. Derek Sell 8. Steve Tellas (no time, yellow flag)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 2. Jeremy Sherman 3. Nathan High 4. Mike Leslie 5. Mike Martin 6. Zach Sawyer 7. Lealand Michael 8. Chris Bonneau (time-2:00.35)

Arizona Race Mart Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. Justin Fisher 2. Mike Leslie 3. R.J. Johnson 4. Nathan High (time-1:00.66)


1. Jeremy Sherman 2,326, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 2,246, 3. Nathan High 2,126, 4. Mike Martin 2,124, 5. R.J. Johnson 2,118, 6. Josh Pelkey 2,090, 7. Andrew Reinbold 2,037, 8. Mike Leslie 2,032, 9. Justin Fisher 2,013, 10. Thomas Ogle 1,711.


Main Event: (20 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Kurt Stults 3. Josh Castro 4. Jeff Greszler 5. Brandon George 6. Tyler Keesler 7. Paul Martin 8. J.D. Bernal 9. Mike Visser 10. Austin Quick 11. Justin Quinn 12. Ryan Walter 13. Katherine Aragon 14. Cliff Cormany 15. Travis Keesler 16. Dennis Parks 17. Garrett Guiley 18. Kyle Shipley 19. Josh Shipley 20. Pat Wing (no time)

Lap leaders: laps 1-20 Fellers

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Tyler Keesler 2. Josh Castro 3. Brandon George 4. Travis Keesler 5. J.D. Bernal 6. Mike Visser 7. Paul Martin 8. Billy Felker 9. Larry Gibson (time-2:11.99)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Kurt Stults 2. Justin Quinn 3. Garrett Guilkey 4. Austin Quick 5. Dennis Parks 6. Katherine Aragon 7. Ryan Walter 8. Christopher Beach 9. Ashley Robella (no time, yellow flag)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Josh Shipley 2. Kiley Fellers 3. Kyle Shipley 4. Jeff Greszler 5. Cliff Cormany 6. Pat Wing 7. Dallas Caldwell 8. Eric Welker 8. Rick Alexander (time-2:08.27)

Semi Main: (10 laps) 1. Dennis Parks 2. J.D. Bernal 3. Mike Visser 4. Cliff Cormany 5. Pat Wing 6. Paul Martin 7. Katherine Aragon 8. Ryan Walter 9. Ashley Robella 10. Billy Felker 11. Dallas Caldwell 12. Eric Welker 13. Larry Gibson 14. Christopher Beach 15. Rick Alexander (no time, yellow flag)

Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. Josh Shipley 2. Brandon George 3. Dennis Parks 4. Kyle Shipley 5. Josh Castro 6. Mike Visser (time-1:03.74)






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR