Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Final turn pass nets win for Sherman at Manzanita Speedway
by Windy McDonald

(JUNE 23, 2008) --- For well over a year the Discount Tire American Sprint Car Series has been basically the Sherman and Davis show. It continued to be the show Saturday night at Manzanita Speedway. Davis started on the front row for the 30 lap feature and had the lead going into the first turn. Sherman started 8th in the 20 car field and was running second by the fourth lap. 

Both cars preferred the high groove on Manzy’s 1/3rd mile track and Sherman made repeated tries for the lead but could not pull it off. Despite several yellow caution periods that allowed Sherman to be nose to tail with Davis he could not make the pass. 

Davis got the best of the traffic as the front runners encountered lapped cars. However the traffic came into play on the final lap. Sherman took the lead with a slide job in turn two but a cut back move by Davis had him in the lead entering turn three. With three lappped cars between Davis and the checkered flag, Sherman had one final chance to take the win. He again made a slide job in turn three but slid wide in turn four. Davis, with another cut back move, was back in front coming off the final turn. The outside groove was the fastest and Davis was on the bottom after the cut back. Sherman won the drag race to the checkered flag for his fourth win of the year. 

With the two drivers having at it for most of the 30 laps they gave each other room and the close, clean action had the fans on their feet for much of the race. 

R.J. Johnson drove from the fifth row to finish third with Mike Martin fourth and Nathan High in fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Justin Fisher, Andy Reinbold, Bob Ream, Jr., Leland Michael and Jay Ervine. Johnson’s drive from ninth to third made him the hard charger of the race. 

Fisher beat Ream, Josh Pelkey, Seainn Hendricsen and Mike Leslie in the first eight lap heat race. Nathan High led all the way in the second with Reinbold, Johnson, Michael and Ronnie Clark in pursuit. The final heat was another Sherman and Davis show with Sherman, who started on the pole, holding off Davis who started fourth. Behind the front running duo were Martin, Ervine and rookie driver Steve Tellas. 

The ASCS sprints will have a week off but will have races on both July Fourth and July fifth. 

Dennis Carrier not only snapped Josh Castro’s three race win streak in the mini sprints, he also stopped him short in his try for a clean sweep after he had won his heat race and the trophy dash. Castro finished a close second and Josh Shipley, ranked third in points behind Kiley Fellers and Carrier, finished third ahead of early leader Kurt Stults and former champion Brandon George. Behind the top five, in order, were Dennis Parks, Kyle Shipley, Paul Martin, Derek Sell and J.D. Bernal. 

Sell, who was involved in the 29th lap sprint car crash last week, was a surprise entry. Although he had no broken bones the youngster did require treatment at a local hospital.

Finishing behind Castro in his win in the first eight lap heat race were George, J. Shipley, Sell and Cliff Cormany. The second heat went to Fellers who started fifth. He beat early lead Carrier as well as K. Shipley, Parks and Mike Visser. The final heat was a great race as Martin held off Stults with Bernal, Katherine Aragon and Billy Felker in pursuit. 

The mini sprints are also on the two night holiday schedule. 

Jeff Perry beat the six car field of midgets as he scored his first main event win of the year. Points leader Terry Goodwin was second Adam Young third, Rick Shuman fourth and Brenden Higgins fifth. R.J. Johnson won the dash and the heat race but dropped out of the feature after leading the second lap. 



Main Event: (30 laps) 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 3. R.J. Johnson 4. Mike Martin 5. Nathan High 6. Justin Fisher 7. Andy Reinbold 8. Bob Ream, Jr. 9. Leland Michael 10. Jay Ervine 11. Seainn Hendricsen 12. Mike Leslie 13. Ronnie Clark 14. Shon Deskins 15. Bobby Taylor 16. Jody Wirth 17. Steve Tellas 18. Derek Williams 19. Steve Sandrolini 20. Josh Pelkey (DNS-Stevie Sussex)

Lap leaders: laps 1-29 Davis, lap 30 Sherman

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Justin Fisher 2. Bob Ream, Jr. 3. Josh Pelkey 4. Seainn Hendricsen 5. Mike Leslie 6. Shon Deskins 7. Derek Williams (time-2:056.59)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Nathan High 2. Andy Reinbold 3. R.J. Johnson 4. Leland Michael 5. Ronnie Clark 6. Jody Wirth 7. Stevie Sussex (time-2:02.73)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 3. Mike Martin 4. Jay Ervine 5. Steve Tellas 6. Steve Sandrolini 7. Bobby Taylor)

Arizona Race Mart Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. Josh Pelkey 2. R.J. Johnson 3. Andy Reinbold 4. Mike Martin (time-100.88) 

Discount Tire ASCS Canyon Division points.

1. Jeremy Sherman 1730, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 1686, 3. Mike Martin 1620, 4. R.J. Johnson 1606, 5. Nathan High 1588, 6. Josh Pelkey 1584, 7. Andy Reinbold 1511, 8. Mike Leslie 1482, 9. Justin Fisher 1471, 10. Jeremy Reagles 


Main Event: (20 laps) 1. Dennis Carrier 2. Josh Castro 3. Josh Shipley 4. Kurt Stults 5. Brandon George 6. Dennis Parks 7. Kyle Shipley 8. Paul Martin 9. Derek Sell 10. J.D. Bernal 11. Justin Quick 12. Cliff Cormany 13. Tyler Keesler 14. Mike Visser 15. Ryan Walter 16. Billy Felker 17. Donna Kotlinski 18. Katherine Aragon 19. Kiley Fellers 20. Pat Wing (DNS-Travis Keesler) 

Lap leaders: laps 1-7 Stults, laps 8-12 Carrier

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Josh Castro 2. Brandon George 3. Josh Castro 4. Derek Sell 5. Cliff Cormany 6. Justin Quick 7. Ryan Walter (time-2:01.17)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Dennis Carrier 3. Kyle Shipley 4. Dennis Parks 5. Mike Visser 6. Travis Keesler 7. Pat Wing (no time)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Paul Martin 2. Kurt Stults 3. J.D. Bernal 4. Katherine Aragon 5. Billy Felker 6. Donna Kotlinski (time-2:0507)

Trophy Dash: 1. Josh Castro 2. Rick Shuman 3. Kurt Stults 4. Kyle Shipley (time-1:00.28)


Main Event: (12 laps) 1. Jeff Perry 2. Terry Goodwin 3. Adam Young 4. Rick Shuman 5. Brenden Higgins 6. R.J. Johnson

Lap leaders: lap 1 Perry, lap 2 Johnson, laps 3-12 Perry

Heat Race: (6 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson 2. Adam Young 3. Jeff Perry 4. Brenden Higgins 5. Terry Goodwin 6. Rick Shuman (time-1:34.52)

Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson 2. Adam Young 3. Jeff Perry 4. Rick Shuman






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR