Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Shuman and Fellers take Sat. nite wins at Manzanita Speedway
by Windy McDonald 

(March 22) Second generation driver Casey Shuman carried on the family winning tradition with a late race pass that carried him to the win in Saturday night American Sprint Car Series 30 lap feature at Manzanita Speedway. Casey, son of National Sprint Car Hall of Fame driver Ron Shuman, exercised patience and finally took the lead from second year driver Jeremy Reagles with a daring inside pass with four laps remaining and then pulled away to a 1.25 second advantage over Reagles at the checked flag. Shuman, who will be heading back to the Midwest in a couple of weeks, trailed Reagles for 25 laps before assuming the lead. Reagles had his best ever finish at Manzy with Josh Pelkey third, Nathan High fourth and Charles Davis, Jr. fifth. 

Reagles, who holds the record for the most mini sprint car wins in a season set in 2006, showed his power in running away with his heat race and again when he took the lead from Shuman on the second lap of the feature. His car seemed to slow when the track changed and Shuman dogged his every move but did not seriously challenge until the "Manzanita slide job" that put him in the lead. They encountered traffic but it was not a factor.

The initial green flag hurt some of the drivers with Davis in particular dropping from his second row starting berth to 12th. He was running fourth and trying to pass Pelkey on the final lap but Pelkey crossed up just enough to cause Davis to lift and Nathan High shot by. 

Jeremy Sherman had a very uncharacteristic night in the Fred Bryan car. He scratched from the trophy dash and after waging a wheel to wheel battle with Davis for third in his heat he finished fourth. That put him in the sixth row for the start of the feature. He also had problems with traffic and was forced to make a pit stop but made it back to a sixth place finish which kept him atop the point standings.

Behind the top six were Shon Deskins, R.J. Johnson, Bernie Smith and Thomas Ogle.

The 25 car field ran three eight lap heat races with the top 16 by points transferring to the feature. The other nine cars ran a 10 lap semi with all but one going to the main event.

Johnson roared away from the field at the drop of the green in the first heat race and easily beat Jeff Henry, Davis, Sherman and Mike Bonneau. Pelkey also went wire to wire in the second heat with Mike Leslie second after starting sixth. Then came Shuman, Ogle and Andy Reinbold. The final heat was a showcase for Reagles with his runaway win over Brandon Lane, Nick Auito, Deskins and High. 

Leslie was the high point driver through the heat races and rolled the die that came up with #8 which called for inverting the top eight in points.

Justin Fisher led the way in the semi with Chris Bonneau, Smith, Mike Colegrove, Bobby Taylor, Seainn Hendricsen, Bob Ream, Jr. and Ryan Linder trailing. High won the trophy dash. 

Kiley Fellers won his second straight mini sprint car feature as he took the lead from Ashley Robella on the seventh lap and had a two second advantage over former champion Dennis Carrier at the checkered flag 13 laps later. Robella finished third with Dustin Cormany fourth ahead of Josh Castro. Rounding out the top ten were the defending champion Kyle Shipley, Josh Shipley, Brandon George, Dallas Quick and Kurt Stults. 

Fellerís had his #7 lined up seventh for the start of the feature and took the lead on lap seven. Lining up three sevens, just as on a slot machine, paid off big.

The mini sprints also fielded 25 cars and ran three heat races. Stults beat former champion Cormany in the first eight lapper with Robella, Duane Adams and Travis Keesler trailing. The second heat wen to Josh Shipley who came out of the third row for the win. Kyle Shipley was second ahead of Mike Visser, Christine Root from Oakdale, CA and George. The final heat went to Fellers over Parks, Castro, Paul Martin and Quick. 

Robella won the trophy dash over Fellers, Martin, George, Stults and Parks. 



Main Event: (30 laps) 1. Casey Shuman 2. Jeremy Reagles 3. Josh Pelkey 4. Nathan High 5. Charles Davis, Jr. 6. Jeremy Sherman 7. Shon Deskins 8. R.J. Johnson 9. Bernie Smith 10. Thomas Ogle 11. Jeff Henry 12. Bob Ream, Jr. 13. Justin Fisher 14. Mike Martin 15. Chris Bonneau 16. Mike Colegrove 17. Ryan Linder 18. Nick Auito 19. Mike Bonneau 20. Mike Leslie 21. Andy Reinbold 22. Seainn Hendricsen 23. Brandon Lane 24. Bobby Taylor

Lap leaders: lap 1 Shuman, laps 2-26 Reagles, laps 27-30 Shuman

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. R.J. Johnson 2. Jeff Henry 3. Charles Davis, Jr. 4. Jeremy Sherman 5. Mike Bonneau 6. Mike Martin 7. Mike Colegrove 8. Chris Bonneau 9. Steve Tellas (time-2:02.79)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Josh Pelkey 2. Mike Leslie 3. Casey Shuman 4. Thomas Ogle 5. Andy Reinbold 6. Justin Fisher 7. Bernie Smith 8. Ryan Linder (time-2:03.66)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Jeremy Reagles 2. Brandon Lane 3. Nick Auito 4. Shon Deskins 5. Nathan High 6. Seainn Hendricsen 7. Bobby Taylor 8. Bob Ream, Jr. (time-1:58.96)

Semi Main: (10 laps) 1. Justin Fisher 2. Chris Bonneau 3. Bernie Smith 4. Mike Colegrove 5. Bobby Taylor 6. Seainn Hendricsen 7. Bob Ream, Jr. 8. Ryan Linder 9. Steve Tellas (no time)

Arizona Race Mart Trophy Dash: (4 laps) 1. Nathan High 2. R.J. Johnson 3. Chris Bonneau (time-1:02.60)


Main Event: (20 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Dennis Parks 3. Ashley Robella 4. Dustin Cormany 5. Josh Castro 6. Kyle Shipley 7. Josh Shipley 8. Brandon George 9. Dallas Quick 10. Kurt Stults 11. Travis Keesler 12. Rick Shuman 13. Pat Wing 14. Duane Adams 15. Dallas Caldwell 16. Mike Visser 17. Larry Gibson 18. Christine Root 19. Derek Williams 20. Ryan Walter 21. Tyler Keesler 22. Paul Martin 23. Jeff Greszler 24. Alan Saine

Lap leaders: lap 1 Visser, laps 2-6 Robella, laps 7-20 Fellers

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Kurt Stults 2. Dustin Cormany 3. Ashley Robella 4. Duane Adams 5. Travis Keesler 6. Dallas Caldwell 7. Ryan Walter 8. Larry Gibson 9. Alan Saine (no time)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Josh Shipley 2. Kyle Shipley 3. Mike Visser 4. Christine Root 5. Brandon George 6. Jeff Greszler 7. Tyler Keesler (DNS-Dennis Carrier)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Dennis Parks 3. Josh Castro 4. Paul Martin 5. Dallas Quick 6. Pat Wing 7. Rick Shuman 8. Derek Williams (time-1:59.67)

Alpine Auto Recovery Trophy Dash (4 laps) 1. Ashley Robella 2. Kiley Fellers 3. Paul Martin 4. Brandon George 5. Kurt Stults 6. Dennis Parks (time-1:01.33






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR