Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

O'Reilly Sprint Bandits TNT: The Tracks and Where to Stay
by Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (August 6, 2007) – The Third Annual O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Tour 'N Topless Midwest Swing kicks off on Tuesday night, August 7, with the first of six events featuring the nation's top wingless 410-ci Sprint Car drivers. 

Tuesday's event is the much-anticipated $30,000 to win Ultimate Challenge at Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, IA. Then, seven nights later, action resumes at Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway, before moving on to Mid-America Speedway, Creek County Speedway and then two nights at Lakeside Speedway. 

Additional information regarding each venue and the places to stay during next week's action follows… 

Southern Iowa Speedway (Oskaloosa, IA) 
When: Tuesday, August 7 
Description: 1/2-mile, semi-banked dirt oval 
Location: 0.5 miles west of US 63 on SR 92, then 0.3 miles north on N. I Street. 
Race Time: 7:00 p.m. 
Track Phone: 515-957-0020 
Notes: The Sprint Bandits TNT Midwest Swing opens with the McTwo Promotions Ultimate Challenge for the third consecutive year. NASCAR ace and open wheel grad J.J. Yeley will be among a stellar field of entries set to battle it out in the "One Night Stand for Thirty Grand". 

Past Ultimate Challenge Winners: Jerry Coons, Jr. (2006), Levi Jones (2005), Dickie Gaines (2004), Boston Reid (2003), Travis Rilat (2002), J.J. Yeley (2001). 

Nebraska Raceway Park's I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE) 
When: Tuesday, August 14 
Description: 4/10-mile semi-banked dirt oval. 
Location: Between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 miles north on SR 63 then west. 
Race Time: 7:00 p.m. 
Track Phone: 402-944-2233 or 402-342-3453 
Notes: The first of five straight nights of action paying points towards the $7,350 Sprint Bandits TNT point fund for the week's top five point earners takes place as I-80 Speedway hosts the $4,000 to win Huskerland Non-Wing Sprint Car Nationals for the third consecutive year. Bud Kaeding has played the role of bridesmaid each of the past two years, getting edged by Levi Jones in 2005 and then chasing California's Robert Ballou to the stripe last year. The ASCS Midwest Region joins in on a Sprint Car twinbill. 

Past Huskerland Non-Wing Sprint Car Nationals Winners: Robert Ballou (2006), Levi Jones (2005). 
Racer's Hotels: Big Inn (Greenwood, NE) 402-944-3313 and Settle Inn (Lincoln, NE) 402-435-8100. 

Mid-America Speedway (South Coffeyville, OK) 
When: Wednesday, August 15 
Description: 3/10-mile semi-banked dirt oval. 
Location: One mile south of the Oklahoma-Kansas state line on US 169, then 0.7 miles west on County Road 2. 
Race Time: 7:00 p.m. 
Track Phone: 918-255-6698 
Notes: Another $4,000 is up for grabs as wingless 410-ci Sprint Cars take to Mid-America Speedway for the first time in track history. 
Racer's Hotels: Holiday Inn Select (Tulsa, OK) 918-622-7000. Ask for the Sprint Bandits rate. 

Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK) 
When: Thursday, August 16 
Description: ¼-mile semi-banked clay oval 
Location: Southwest of Tulsa on I-44 to Exit 211, then 0.3 miles south on SR 33, then one mile west on SR 66. 
Race Time: 7:30 p.m. 
Track Phone: 918-247-6675 
Notes: The Sprint Bandits TNT series takes to a bullring for the first time, as for the second night in a row a track is christened by the mudslinging wingless 410-ci Sprint Cars. The $4,000 to win TNT event is joined on the card by the ASCS2 Non-Wing Micro Sprints. 
Racer's Hotels: Holiday Inn Select (Tulsa, OK) 918-622-7000. Ask for the Sprint Bandits rate. 

Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, KS) 
When: Friday, August 17 and Saturday, August 18 
Description: ½-mile semi-banked dirt oval. 
Location: Off I-435 Exit 18 then one mile northwest on SR 5. 
Race Time: 7:30 p.m. on both nights. 
Track Phone: 913-299-2040 
Notes: The week of topless Sprint Car action concludes with two nights at Lakeside Speedway for the fan-favorite "Ron Shuman Classic", which offers up $10,000 to the Saturday night winner. The coveted Pedal Car trophy has gone back to California over each of the past two years, while the two years previous to that it went back to Warsaw, MO, with reigning Sprint Bandits TNT Midwest Swing champion Jesse Hockett. 

Past Ron Shuman Classic Winners: Brad Sweet (2006), Bud Kaeding (2005), Jesse Hockett (2004), Jesse Hockett (2003), Bud Kaeding (2002), Troy Rutherford (2001), Tony Elliott (2000). 

Racer's Hotels: Hampton Inn (Kansas City, KS) 913-328-1400. Ask for Lakeside Speedway Room Rate. 
Additional information regarding the O'Reilly Sprint Bandits Tour 'N Topless Series is available at






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR