Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Coons wins midget main at Manzantia Speedway
by Windy McDonald

(October 20, 2007) --- Jerry Coons, Jr., the 2006 USAC National Midget Champion, showed the way in Saturday night's midget car main event which was contested on Manzanita Speedway's half mile track. Attrition was high as only nine of the twenty starters in the 25 lap feature were running at the checkered flag. 

Sammy Swindell, a two Western World Sprint Car champion, finished second with Josh Wise, who is racing NASCAR trucks this year, in third with Friday night's winner Brad Kuhn fourth and Justin Grant fifth. Kuhn was the overall winner in the two nights of racing.

Finishing behind the top five were Darin Fala, Tony Rossie, Darin Bolton, Stevie Sussex and Ken Perry.

Stratton Beat Wise into the first turn and led the first 15 laps before yielding to Coons. He pulled the Burkhart into the pits in the closing laps and his team mate, High, exited the race at the same time. The were near the front at the time. 

Despite failing to finish. High's 12th place finish was enough to earn the Arizona Midget Racing Association championship for 2007.

Wise started fifth in the first heat and took the win over High, Fala, Kuhn and Brendan Higgins. The second heat. Coons, team mate to Wise, won the second heat race after starting third with Swindell, Chris Rahe, Cole Beard and Chad Boat in pursuit. 

The final heat went to Stratton who started last in the seven car field. Falling victims to his charge were Sussex, Hunter Shoenberg, Grant and Dale Daly.

The line-up for the first four rows in the feature was determined by two lap match races between the top eight in points from heat race competition. Chris Rahe, eighth in points, battled Darin Fala in the first match race and had the lead until he pushed wide on the second lap. Fala's winning time was 42.36 seconds. Fala then took on Sussex and the youngster used only 41.08 seconds in taking the win. Then Coons came on the track and beat Sussex and then was eliminated by Stratton who was clocked at 40.37. Stratton got a good jump in his race against Swindell to move to the final race for the pole. Wise earned the pole by beating Stratton who earned the outside front row berth. 

Kiley Fellers set a new 20 lap record in winning the mini sprint car feature race. His time of 5:05.44 broke the old mark of 5:08.44 set by Chad Boat in 2005. 

Fellers started fifth in the feature and chased down Kyle Shipley and made an outside pass in traffic to take the lead on the tenth lap. Shipley took second and with it earned the 2007 Arizona Mini Sprint Car driving championship. 

Josh Castro made a good run from the fourth row but fell short in his quest for a third straight feature win as he finished third Jacob Hawkins took over the car usually driven by Austin Quick and finished fourth ahead of Dennis Carrier. Rounding out the top ten were Brandon Young, BJ Arntz, Jim Mattison and Mike Visser.

Mattison beat Young, Castro, Arntz and Travis Keesler in the first eight lap heat race. Fellers scored a runaway win over Brandon George, Carrier, Visser and Paul Martin in the second heat. The final heat went to Hawkins over Shipley, Steve Tellas, Tyler Keesler and Pat Wing, Sr.

Shipley went wire to wire in winning the four lap trophy dash. Behind him at the finish line were George, Castro, Ashley Robella and Visser. 


AMRA MIDGETS (1/2 Mile Track
Main Event: 1. Jerry Coons, Jr. 2. Sammy Swindell 3. Josh Wise 4. Brad Kuhn 5. Justin Grant 6.Darin Fala 7. Tony Rossie 8. Darin Bolton 9. Stevie Sussex 10. Ken Perry 11. Jace Pennetta 12. Danny Stratton 13. Nathan High 14. Hunter Shoenberg 15. Brendan Higgins 16. Chris Rahe 17. Chad Boat 18. Dale Daly 19. Garrett Hansen 20. Cole Beard

Lap leaders: laps 1-16 Stratton, laps 17-25 Coons

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Josh Wise 2. Nathan High 3. Darin Fala 4. Brad Kuhn 5. Brendan Higgins 6. Ken Perry 7. Jace Pennetta 8. Terry Goodwin 

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Jerry Coons, Jr. 2. Sammy Swindell 3. Chris Rahe 4. Cole Beard 5. Chad Boat 6. Garrett Hansen (time-2:42.89) 

3rd Heat: 1. Danny Stratton 2. Stevie Sussex 3. Hunter Shoenberg 4. Justin Grant 5. Dale Daly 6. Darin Bolton (time-2:43.18)

Pole Dash Challenge: 1. Josh Wise 2. Danny Stratton 3. Sammy Swindell 4. Nathan High 5. Jerry Coons, Jr. 6. Stevie Sussex 7. Darin Fala 8. Chris Rahe


Main Event: (20 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Kyle Shipley 3. Josh Castro 4. Jacob Hawkins 5. Dennis Carrier 6. Brandon Young 7. Steve Tellas 8. BJ Arntz 9. Jim Mattsion 10. Mike Visser 11. Paul Martin 12. Dennis Parks 13. Tyler Keesler 14. Travis Keesler 15. JD Bernal 16. Ashley Robella 17. Russ Martin 18. Brent Yarnel 19. Rick Shuman 20. Larry Gibson 21. Brandon George 22. Pat Wing, Sr. (time-3:05.44, new record)

Lap leaders: laps 1-9 Shipley, laps 10-20 Fellers

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Jim Mattison 2. Brandon Young 3. Josh Castro 4. BJ Arntz 5. Travis Keesler 6. JD Bernal 7. Ashley Robella 8. Larry Gibson (time-2:05.50)

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Kiley Fellers 2. Brandon George 3. Dennis Carrier 4. Mike Visser 5. Paul Martin 6. Rick Shuman 7. Russ Martin 8. Brent Yarnel (time-1:59.91)

3rd Heat: 1. Jacob Hawkins 2. Kyle Shipley 3. Steve Tellas 4. Tyler Keesler 5. Pat Wing, Sr. 6. Dennis Parks (DNS-Brandon Shelton)

Trophy Dash: 1. Kyle Shipley 2. Brandon George 3. Josh Castro 4. Ashley Robella 5. Mike Visser (time-1:02.17)






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR