Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Manzanita Speedway Press Release For October 5-6
by Windy McDonald

(October 2, 2007) Another champion will be crowned in this weekend's races at Manzanita Speedway as the regular season winds down. Either Justin Upton or Bobby Taylor will come out of Friday night's factory stock races with the title. It would be Upton's first such championship or two in a row and three overall should Taylor overtake the youngster. 

Jeremy Sherman can get a step closer to a third straight sprint car championship, the first under the American Sprint Car Series sanction, in Saturday night's featured event. Sherman edged Charles Davis, Jr. last week on the half mile track for his 11th win of the year and stretched his lead over Davis who is also a two time Arizona sprint car champion. 

Upton is the odds on favorite to join Ricky Thornton, Jr., Don Costa and Anthony Madrid on the 2007 list of champions. Thornton captured the Barnett/FTS Dirt Modified title last week. Costa wrapped up the super stock title last month and Madirid added another championship to his resume in the sport modifieds. 

Upton scored a clean sweep last Friday night and carries a 21 point lead over Taylor into the factory stock season finale. He needs to finish close to Taylor in heat race competition and then finish in the top ten in the 20 lap feature. He qualified for Friday night's trophy dash by winning his heat race last week and can pick up at least a point and as much as four points in the first race of the evening to build on his lead. 

The factory stocks will be sharing the one third mile track with the Manzanita Bombers and the lady stocks in Friday night's stock car triple header.

Sherman still has to weather five races before he can be crowned. He has the race Saturday night when the sprint cars share the one third mile track with the midgets and mini sprints and the two nights of the Parker Store 360 Western World championships and then two more on the road. 

The American Sprint Car Series, Canyon Division has been the Sherman and Davis show for most of the season. Davis has finished second seven times but has won three races since he moved into the Jim Massey sprinter. He missed one race early in the season when he raced on the West Coast. He trails Sherman by 155 points and is mathematically still in the chase. Another champion, Bob Ream, Jr. (1998) is also within striking distance should Sherman falter. He is 30 points behind Davis.

Only three drivers have won main events this year with Sherman and Davis accounting for 14 wins. Fifteen year old Chad Boat has the other win. 

Boat had problems in last week's sprint car race but came out of the fifth row to win the midget main event which automatically gives him the favorite's role since he beat two time winner Nathan High. No points are available for the midgets which have one more outing after Saturday night. 

While current ASCS Canyon Region points leader Jeremy Sherman shoots for his twelfth win of the year, an extra $800 will be up for grabs during the night with the "Pepsi Pole Challenge".

Upon the completion of heat race action, the top eight in passing points will advance to the Dash. A series of one-on-one challenge races will ensue, beginning with seventh vs. eighth, then that winner versus sixth and so on. Each challenge winner receives $100, with the final challenge winner pocketing an additional $100 to run the total for the "Pepsi Pole Challenge" to $800.

Kyle Shipley holds the mini sprint car point lead but cannot let up. While Brandon George, the 2001 champion, is 565 points in arrears he could make up the difference should Shipley falter. The mini sprints have five races remaining, with four of them at Manzy. 

Race time each night is set for the usual 7:30. 


Jeremy Sherman 2155, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 2000, 3. Bob Ream, Jr. 1070, 4. Mike Leslie 1956, 5. Andrew Reinbold 1930, 6. Josh Pelkey 1918, 7. Shon Deskins 1867, 8. Seainn Hendricsen 1876, 9. Bernie Smith 1860, 10. Mike Martin 1771. 

MINI SPRINT POINTS: 1. Josh Shipley 8075, 2. Brandon George 7510 3. Paul Martin 7175, 4. Dennis Parks 7115 5. Austin Quick 6970, 6. Mike Visser 6510, 7. Colby Copland 6410. 8. Matthew Shedarawich 5985, 9. Josh Castro 5975, 10. Ashley Robella 5955. 






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR