Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Davis wins rain delays ASCS main event at Manzanita
September 2, 2007 --- Charles Davis, Jr. won the rain delayed American Sprint Car Series 30 lap feature race Sunday night at Manzanita Speedway. The race, originally scheduled for Saturday night, was scrubbed when rain hit the track with the first heat was on the track. 

Racing resumed Sunday night and Davis proved that his win the previous week was no fluke as he took the lead in the first turn with Jeremy Sherman on his bumper. Lap after lap it was Davis and Sherman with Davis using the cushion in turns one and two and then running the bottom at the other end of the one third mile track. 

The fast pace had the front runners in traffic at about lap 12 and Sherman got close a couple of times when Davis was held up by slower cars but could not make a pass. Davis then handled a couple of cars before Sherman could get by and the first yellow flag flew for a stalled car with half of the 30 laps completed. 

Davis had the two lapped cars separating himself and Sherman and when the green flag flew so did Charlie. He went back to work and Sherman ran a couple of car lengths back.

Sherman slowed with five laps remaining and Mike Colegrove, up from 13th, dropped him to third. Jeremy was still in third when a yellow came out with three laps to go but the rest of the field closed in.

Colegrove may have had the fastest car on the track and he put pressure on Davis for the final three laps but Davis used the proper grooves and took his second win of the year.

R.J. Johnson who ran third in a West coast USAC/CRA race Saturday night finished third. Matthew Rossi came from deep in the field to finish fourth and Chad Boat got by Sherman on the final lap to take fifth. Behind Sherman were Andy Reinbold, Mike Leslie, Bob Ream, Jr. and rookie driver Bobby Taylor. 

The 24 car starting field did not get a lap in before a muliti-car crash occurred in the first turn. A car crossed up and those behind it tried to take evasive action. Pelkey ran over a rear wheel and flipped the Moriarity Total Seal sprinter ending his night. Auito, Rossi and Leslie were also involved but they were able to rejoin the field. 

Boat won the first eight lap heat race after starting fourth and beat Bobby Marcum, Tom Ogle, Seainn Hendricsen and Bruce St. James. The second heat went to Taylor from the pole and Sherman came out for the fourth row to take second ahead of Bernie Smith, Colegrove and Leland Michael. Mike Martin was the class of the field in the third heat as he out distanced Chris Bonneau, Josh Pelkey, Leslie and Shon Deskins. The final heat went to rookie driver Nick Aiuto over Davis, Rossi, Mike Courtney and Ream. 

The top eight in the ten lap semi transferred to the feature. Ream started third but wasted no time taking command. Johnson came from sixth to finish second wiht Reinbold, Deskins, Jeremy Reagles, Brandon Lane, Mike Courtney (subbing for Scott Pasmore) and Ronnie Clark followed. 

The race was red flagged when Leland Michael crossed up and was tagged by Mike Rux, Jr., who rolled after running over a wheel. Jody Wirth was also sidelined in the accident but there were no injuries. 

Davis had the pole in the Arizona Race Mart pole dash and shot away from the field on his way to a new six lap record. He earned the pole with a run of 1:28.28 which broke his own mark of 1:28.82 that had stood since March 4, 2000. The rest of the field came across the line with Bonneau, Sherman, Marcum, Boat, Auito and Taylor earning spots in the first four rows of the feature. Martin had engine problems as he finished his heat race and did not run the dash. 


Main Event: (30 laps) 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 2. Mike Colegrove 3. R.J. Johnson 4. Matthew Rossi 5. Chad Boat 6. Jeremy Sherman 7. Andy Reinbold 8. Mike Leslie 9. Bob Ream, Jr. 10. Bobby Taylor 11. Chris Bonneau 12. Shon Deskins 13. Tom Ogle 14. Brandon Lane 15. Nick Aiuto 16. Jeremy Reagles 17. Mike Courtney 18. Bobby Marcum 19. Seainn Hendricsen 20. Ronnie Clark 21. Bernie Smith 22. Bruce St. James 23. Mike Martin 24. Josh Pelkey

Lap leaders: laps 1-30 Davis, Jr.

1st Heat: (8 laps) 1. Chad Boat 2. Bobby Marcum 3. Tom Ogle 4. Seainn Hendricsen 5. Bruce St. James 6. Ronnie Clark 7. Mike Rux, Jr. 

2nd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Bobby Taylor 2. Jeremy Sherman 3. Bernie Smith 4. Mike Colegrove 5. Leland Michael 6. Andy Reinbold 7. Brandon Lane (time-2:05.43)

3rd Heat: (8 laps) 1. Mike Martin 2. Chris Bonneau 3. Josh Pelkey 4. Mike Leslie 5. Shon Deskins 6. Jody Wirth 7. Adam Wirth (time-1:58.69)

4th Heat: (8 laps) 1. Nick Aiuto 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 3. Matthew Rossi 4. Mike Courtney 5. Bob Ream, Jr. 6. R.J. Johnson 7. Jeremy Reagles (time-2:02.47

Semi Main: (10 laps) 1. Bob Ream, Jr. 2. R.J. Johnson 3. Andy Reinbold 4. Shon Deskins 5. Jeremy Reagles 6. Brandon Lane 7. Mike Courtney 8. Ronnie Clark 9. Adam Wirth 10. Leland Michael 11. Jody Wirth 12. Mike Rux, Jr.

Pole Dash: (6 laps) 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 2. Chris Bonneau 3. Jeremy Sherman 4. Bobby Marcum 5. Chad Boat 6. Nick Aiuto 7. Bobby Taylor (time: 1:28.28, new track record)






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR