Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Tabor, Marrs, Olshowka and Sprague win at TCS

Amazing August: Free ice cream this Saturday

by Bob Burbach

Marysville, CA- August 6, 2005...Chargin’ Charlie Marrs repeated as the winner of the Hunt Magneto Speedway Sprint Car Series on Saturday night at Twin Cities Speedway. Reno’s Mark Tabor picked up his second win of the campaign in the Riebes Racing Series Pacific Sprint Cars and Jeff Olshowka triumphed in the TCS Stock car feature. In the TCS Mini Stocks, Yuba City’s Kevin Sprague was first under the flag and finally awarded the main event win after some anxious moments in post race technical inspection.


In the Riebes Racing Series Pacific Sprint Car main event Tabor started on the pole and checked out. No one challenged the Reno rocket throughout the entire distance. Track champion Mike Monahan found second early and followed Tabor to the flag. The big story was a mid-race spin by three-time champion Korey Lovell. Lovell was arguably the fastest car on the speedway and was one of the only cars able to pass on the sun baked surface. At half distance, while in a battle for fifth, Lovell lost the handle and did a quick spin in turn one. He kept the car running but fell well back in the field. Lovell got back to 9th at the end but gave up ground to point leader and fifth place finisher Brent Dothage. Monahan’s 5th consecutive top two finish (with three straight wins) edged him closer to Dothage and right on the heels of Lovell. Behind Monahan at the flag was Kevin Lovell who had a fine night. Cortney Dozier continued to impress with a 4th place finish and a 3rd quick time, to boot.


When the points are made official later on in the week look for the top three contenders to be within 22 points of each other. Monahan’s late season charge has been the highlight of the last five events. The defending champion has four races remaining to challenge point leader Dothage and a determined Korey Lovell.


Jeff Olshowka held off a fast closing Phillip Shelby to win a wildly competitive Riebes Racing Series Stock Car main event. Olshowka was fairly dominant throughout the event after taking the early lead. Great dices were peppered throughout the field. Shelby got to second late in the race but could not get to the high flying Olshowka. Brad Magenheimer placed 3rd, but he was in a series of duels throughout the event. Jake Cavasos was 4th ahead of Kenny Robinson. Both racers turned in fine performances to round out the top five.


Marysville’s Andy Aust was a DNF for the second straight week. By half way he was a significant factor but his car just stopped, never to return. Aust likely will hold on to second in the standings but he lost ground to Shelby in the quest for the title.


Aust and Archie Flynn scored big in the Turk’s Smog and Auto Repair $100 heat race shootout” securing a C-note each for their heat race victories.


Marysville’s Charlie Marrs simply had them covered and easily outdistanced the field in the Hunt Magneto Wingless Warrior series. It was Marrs’ second straight win. Herman Klein, the guest chauffer in the Eversult 7o rocketed to second from his 4th row start, but could go no further as Marrs pulled away from everyone. Point leader Steve Stein had early race problems and roared back to a solid third place. Stein has a lock on the championship and has been on “cruise control” for the last few weeks. Well, not in this one. The Vacaville star was a factor and had a nice battle with Klein in the later laps.


Yuba City’s Mark Hill parlayed a brilliant heat race win into a fourth place finish in the feature. Hill has had his problems this year, but like Marrs has stepped up to the plate big time lately. Jeremy Hawes finished in 5th.


Defending TCS Mini Stock champion Kevin Sprague was the first car under the checkered flag after a titanic struggle with a number of fellow competitors, including point leader Ken Reische and a vastly improved Mike Merritt. This race was filled with exciting dicing and drama. The TCS Mini Stocks continue to provide excellent side-by-side racing and the best car count of any division.


Near half way Sprague and point leader Ken Reische hooked up in a crowd pleasing duel. The pair rocketed off of turn four with Reische on the inside. Sprague had a great run off the banking and inched up on the outside. They traded paint as they headed toward one, then Reische came to an abrupt halt in two. His front end was badly askew. Reische, from that point on, was in and out of the pits for the rest of the event.


With Reische out of the picture, Merritt showed up in second and he and the champ went at for the win. Merritt has really been a factor recently and he pressed the champ hard. A final shootout to the end went to Sprague with Merritt in second followed by Robert Luster, Lisa Shelby and a career best fifth for Ryan Francis. Shelby came from the last row to her 4th place finish in, by far, the best passing job of the night. Like brother Phillip, Lisa’s star is rising.


Post race technical inspection initially showed Sprague and Merritt to be illegal and, for a time, third place Robert Luster was awarded the victory. Further analysis prompted race officials to reverse the disqualifications. The finishing order with regard to Sprague and Merritt was restored to the positions they were in at the checkered flag.


Amazing August continues this Saturday night with Yuba City Scrap and Steel’s annual Ice Cream night. Everyone in attendance will receive free ice cream, fans and competitors alike. The Riebes Racing Series Stock Cars and Pacific Sprint Cars will return to TCS, as will the TCS Mini Stocks. The Sprint 100’s will be the hosted traveling group.


Gates open at 5 with the first race scheduled for 7PM. Call 530.742.9222 or the business office at 530.675.2050 for more information. Visit the website at for all of the latest updates and scheduling.






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR