Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

Press Release

by Windy McDonald

Phoenix, AZ (Sept. 17) Jeremy Sherman set a record with his 14th Arizona Sprint Car Association win; Anthony Madrid became the first driver in Manzanita Speedway’s fifty four year history to score double championships in a year two times; Terry Belcher tuned up for the upcoming Barnett Harley Davidson/Sands Chevrolet Nationals with a BRA Dirt Modified win. All this was impressive but the water cooler talk Monday morning may concern the better than expected sprint car debut of 13 year old Chad Boat.

Jeremy Sherman and his car owner Fred Bryan were able to pop the cork on the traditional bottle of champagne as a record 14th win was enough to wrap up the 2005 owner and driver titles even with three races remaining on the schedule. He built his lead over Josh Pelkey to 865 points. Should Jeremy set out the remaining three races and Pelkey gain the maximum in each race he would still be 76 points back at the season’s final checkered flag

Ben Gregg had his most successful night ever as he won his heat race, led the first 9 laps in the feature and finished second beating his previous best fifth place finish. Chris Bonneau continued his impressive late season run with a drive from 13th to third to earn the Hard Charger award. Bruce St. James had his first top five finish of the year with a late pass on Bob Ream, Jr. for fourth. Rounding out the top ten were Mike Martin who started along side Bonneau,  Jay Ervine, Matt Rossi, up from 17th , Nathan High and Jeff Henry.

The race ended with most of the field under a red flag as Tim Beal and Shon Deskins made contact at the checkered flag and Beal did two hard end over end flips into turn one. Neither driver was injured. The cars that had not taken the checkered flag were scored in the finish order in the previous lap.

Sherman had the pole for the first eight lap heat race and easily scored his 14th win of the year with High, Ream and Bonneau earning main event berths with top four finishes. Seainn Hendricsen topped Ervine, Johnny Williams, Jr and Martin with his wire to wire win in the eight lap second heat. Mike Leslie used a front row start to notch his second heat win of the year with the other transfers spots going to St. James, Mike Bonneau and Tim Beal in the third heat. The final heat allowed Gregg to show his power as he won a heat race for the fifth time. Behind him and going to the feature were Pelkey, Shon Deskins and Henry.

Matt Rossi led all 12 laps in the semi main but was pressured late by Marty Miller who came out of the fourth row to finish a close second. J.T. Imperial was third and Andy Reinbold earned the final spot for the 25 lap feature. High scored his second Arizona Race Mart trophy dash win by beating Imperial, Chris Bonneau and Pelkey.

Then there was Boat. The 13 year old youngster, son of former Indy driver Billy Boat, has set the racing community on its ear with his performance in Mini Sprints and Midgets and his debut in the ASCA sprints did not disappoint the crowd that cheered him on. Granted, he did not make the main event but that was secondary. As a rookie he had to tag the field in both his heat and in the semi. He almost made the feature through his heat with a close fifth place finish behind four drivers with a combined 16 main event wins—Sherman, High, Ream, Jr. and Bonneau. 

The real show came in the 12 lap semi. The diminutive eighth grade student started last in the 15 car field and showed his ability, daring and lightning quick reflexes  as he missed qualifying for the main by just one position despite a faltering engine. He finished fifth and passed two top ten drivers and a former three time Arizona state champion on his way toward the front for one of the best rookie debuts ever.

The ASCA will not return to Manzy until October 15th when the run the Buddy Taylor Memorial on the half mile track. Midgets will have their season finale on that date and will be on the one third mile track.




Main Event: 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Ben Gregg 3. Chris Bonneau 4. Bruce St. James 5. Bob Ream, Jr. 6. Mike Martin 7. Jay Ervine 8. Matt Rossi 9. Nathan High 10. Jeff Henry 11. Mike Leslie 12. Seainn Hendricsen 13. Josh Pelkey 14. Andy Reinbold 15. Shon Deskins  16. Tim Beal 17. Marty Miller 18. Mike Bonneau 19. Johnny Williams, Jr. 20. J.T. Imperial

Lap leaders: laps 1-9 Gregg, laps 10-25 Sherman


1st Heat: 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Nathan High 3. Bob Ream, Jr. 4. Chris Bonneau 5. Chad Boat 6. Andy Reinbold 7. Ryan Linder 8. Don Earven 9. Ashley Corey (8 laps, time: 2:10.26)


2nd Heat: 1. Seainn Hendricsen 2. Jay Ervine 3. Johnny Williams, Jr. 4. Mike Martin 5. Brian Hacker 6. Bernie Smith 7. Chris McArthur 8. Tom Ogle (No time)


3rd Heat: 1. Mike Leslie 2. Bruce St. James 3. Mike Bonneau 4. Tim Beal 5. Matt Rossi 6. J.T. Imperial 7. Bobby Boone 8. Don Earven (time: 2:04.27)


4th Heat: 1. Ben Gregg 2. Josh Pelkey 3. Shon Deskins 4. Jeff Henry 5. Steve Sandrolini 6. Marty Miller 7. Marty Wilcox 8. Lealand Fuller (no time)


Semi Main: 1. Matt Rossi 2. Marty Miller 3. J.T. Imperial 4. Andy Reinbold 5. Chad Boat 6. Bobby Boone 7. Brian Hacker 8. Bernie Smith 9. Steve Sandrolini 10. Ashley Corey 11. Don Earven 12. Marty Wilcox 13. James Aragon 14. Ryan Linder 15. Tom Ogle


Arizona Race Mart Trophy Dash: 1. Nathan High 2. J.T. Imperial 3. Chris Bonneau 4. Josh Pelkey (4 laps, time 1:05.02)







Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR