Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

Press Release

Sherman scores clean sweep in Saturday night's Salute to Indy at Manzanita Speedway
by Windy McDonald
Phoenix, AZ (May 28)  Jeremy Sherman resumed his winning ways in Saturday nightís 50 lap Sprint Car Salute to Indy  at Manzanita Speedway. Sherman,  who had set out the last Arizona Sprint Car Association event as he served a one race suspension for alleged rough driving returned with a vengeance as he scored his first clean sweep of the year. He won the trophy dash for the first time then kept his Fred Bryan sprinter perfect in heat race
competition win its ninth win of the season.  He  then drove to the winnerís circle for the fifth time this year with his main event win.

            Sherman started eighth in the feature and wrested the lead from Nathan High on the eighth lap. His pass came following a red flag when BobReam, Jr. slammed head on into the wall when his steering broke in turn four. Ream came out of the crash uninjured but his sprinter suffered extensive damage.

            Once out front Sherman extended his lead over High to as much as seven seconds until a couple of harmless spins brought out the yellow flag keeping the field bunched.  The final yellow came on the 36th lap when Scott Pasmore looped it.

            High made a race of it as he stayed with Sherman for the final fourteen laps but was still 1.51 seconds back at the checkered flag.

            Matt Rossi came out of the sixth row to finish third, Bobby Boone drove from 13th to fourth and Chuck Buckman earned the hard charger award with a drive from 20th to finish fifth.  Rounding out the top ten were Mike Leslie, Jeff Henry, Jay Ervine, Bruce St. James and Josh Pelkey.

            Pelkey moved toward the front in the early laps and was running as high as third until he tried to make a low line pass for second and spun out.

            It took three tries to get the feature officially started. On the first start both Rob Davis and Bernie Smith fell victim to the crowded track as they both flipped ending their night. Neither driver was injured. On the second start trouble again developed in the first turn as rookie driver Michael Mundy, the pole sitter,  spun and collected Mike Martin and
Pasmore. Pasmore was able to continue after a quick trip to the work station. Both Martin and Mundy were through for the night.

            The race was fairly clean after it was actually started until Reamís hard contact with the wall and then the spin by Pelkey followed by a spin by Pasmore.

            Sherman had the pole for the first heat and it was no contest as he beat High, Smith and Boone. The second heat went to rookie driver Tom Ogle who beat St. James, Ream and Davis. Marty Miller snared the win in the third heat with a wire to wire win over Jimmy Drinan, Rossi and Martin. Mundy led Andy Reinbold, Leslie and Pasmore to the finish line in the final heat.

            Pelkey had the pole for the semi after a fifth place finish in his heat race. He took the win over ninth starting Jeff Henry, winner of the May 14th feature. Jay Ervine and Buckman earned their way into the feature by finishing third and fourth. Buckman finished last in the first heat and started the 12 lap semi main at the back of the 17 car field. He made it toward the front but made hard contact with the car driven by Brian Hacker
who was running fifth. Hacker did one snap roll before coming to rest on his wheels. He was not injured.,

            Shermanís  first trophy dash win of the year came at the expense of Pelky and Hacker.

            The ASCA Sprint Cars will again be on Manzyís one third mile track on June 3rd in a program that also features the Barnett Harley Davidson Dirt Modifieds on the half mile track.


Main Event (50 laps) 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Nathan High 3. Matt Rossi 4. Bobby Boone 5. Chuck Buckman 6. Mike Leslie 7. Jeff Henry 8. Jay Ervine 9. Bruce St. James 10. Josh Pelkey 11. Jimmy Drinan 12. Tom Ogle 13. Scott Pasmore 14. Marty Miller 15. Andy Reinbold 16. Bob Ream, Jr. 17. Michael Mundy 18. Mike Martin 19. Bernie Smith 20. Rob Davis

Lap leaders: lap 1 Drinan, laps 2-7 High, laps 8-50 Sherman

1st Heat: 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Nathan High 3. Bernie Smith 4. Bobby Boone 5. Josh Pelkey 6. Ben Gregg 7. Jeff Henry 8. Seainn Hendricsen 9. Chuck Buckman 

2nd Heat:  1. Tom Ogle 2. Bruce St. James 3. Bob Ream, Jr. 4. Rob Davis 5. Mike Bonneau 6. Tim Beal 7. Chris McArthur 8. Don Keesler (DNS-Shon Deskins)

3rd Heat: 1. Marty Miller 2. Jimmy Drinan 3. Matt Rossi 4. Mike Martin 5. Jay Ervine 6. Jesse Dunham 7. Richard Ronco 8. Chris Edwards

4th Heat: 1. Michael Mundy 2. Andy Reinbold 3. Mike Leslie 4. Scott Pasmore 5. Art Garcia 6. Brian Hacker 7. Larry Lloyd 8. Johnny Williams, Jr.

Semi Main: 1. Josh Pelkey 2. Jeff Henry 3. Jay Ervine 4. Chuck Buckman 5. Seainn Hendricsen 6. Chris Edwards 7. Mike Bonneau 8. Chris McArthur 9. Larry Lloyd 10. Richard Ronco 11. Jesse Dunham 12. Ben Gregg 13. Don Keesler 14. Jesse Dunham 15. Brian Hacker 16. Art Garcia 17. Tim Beal

Trophy Dash: 1. Jeremy Sherman 2. Josh Pelkey 3. Brian Hacker 4. Larry Lloyd






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR