Traditional Sprint Car FanSite

See You At The Races!!!

 Press Release

Twin Cities Speedway Champions Honored

Yuba City CA - November 12, 2004. Tipton Motorsports held its second annual awards banquet honoring champions in all four divisions at Twin Cities Speedway in Marysville. One of California’s oldest independent raceways, TCS celebrated its 37th year of continuous operation. The event was held Saturday night November sixth at the Yuba City Convention Center. It was a sellout.


Reno Nevada’s Mike Monahan was awarded the lion’s share of the payout and received a beautiful trophy acknowledging his accomplishment as champion of the Pacific Sprint Cars. Monahan edged out three-time champion Korey Lovell by a single point in the closest championship point race in the speedway’s history.


Monahan was gracious at the microphone in praising his crew. Monahan noted that a “great racecar helped an average driver” get to the podium. Monahan’s hammer down style is likely what got him to the podium. Monahan has been consistently one of the most aggressive on TCS’s long list of great chauffeurs. Monahan added the TCS title to other championships at two different tracks in Montana.


Runner-up car owner Richard Lovell praised Monahan’s effort and vowed to be back in the hunt next year. Lovell owns the second and third place cars in the point standings piloted by Korey Lovell and twin brother Kevin. Kevin wound up with the most victories in the division.


Antioch’s Chris Magoon picked up the hardware in the Speedway Sprint Car Series. The Wingless Warriors were a new division at TCS this season and Magoon was the inaugural champion. Magoon was in good spirits after suffering a serious injury during TCS’s postseason Labor Day Classic. Having been crowned champion on August 28th, Magoon entered the annual race that featured non-wing Speedway Sprint Cars. Magoon was t-boned at very high speed in turn three in the event eventually won by Darrell Hanestad. Magoon was life-flighted away and gave everyone in attendance a good scare. At the microphone Magoon mentioned that his plans for 2005 included a return to defend his title. Magoon complimented an excellent effort by his entire team.


Magoon will have to be looking over his shoulder next season as runner-up Rick Eversult has his eye on the crown. Eversult’s late season run had him close at the end. Two-time feature winner Kenny Bair will be back. Bair finished third in points. The most remarkable thing about Bair’s accomplishment is that he missed two events during the season. With Magoon, Bair and Eversult in the chase, 2005 should be a thriller.


The TCS Mini Stocks had a very interesting season. While the wickedly fast number seven owned by former modified champion Charlie Marrs won the most features, the feat was accomplished with several drivers; Brandon Dozier, Marrs and a series high seven wins with James Castleberry.  But the driving champion for 2005 was Kevin Sprague, the mild-mannered charger from Yuba City. Sprague visited victory lane once during the season, but charged to the front almost every night with amazing regularity. In a car wrenched by Mark Hill and Sprague, Kevin distanced himself from the rest of the challengers and glided to the championship. Late season Charges by runner-up Robert Mull and Heather Bartlett fell short in the end.


Sprague heaped the praise on his sponsors and crew and said he would return as a driver in a limited role next season. Sprague said the championship was the goal and they accomplished the goal. Sprague will run a limited schedule at TCS in 2005 taking more time off for family and friends.


Jerry Bartlett, the Yuba City charger, was the champion in the TCS Stock Car Division. Bartlett’s ride to the championship was a breeze toward the end and he actually had it sewed up by the final night of the season. Bartlett’s ride to the crown included five feature wins and an impressive number of top five finishes with many runs to the front from the back. Like Sprague, Bartlett was well rewarded with passing points in most feature races. It was widely rumored that Jerry would hang up his helmet after this year. Bartlett has won three track stock car championships at TCS since 1996. Bartlett dispelled the rumors once and for all during his moment at the microphone. Bartlett will run in 2005. But the races will be limited and will largely depend on where daughter Heather races in the coming season. Heather Bartlett will drive with the Nor Cal Dwarf Cars next year.


The late season heroics of Yuba City’s Chris Paquette had everyone talking as the season drew to a close. The sophomore lead-foot will be the one to beat in the 2005 season. For two years now, Paquette has been the runner-up in points and he really has his eye on the 2005 crown. With Bartlett out of the championship picture for next year, 2004 third place finisher Kenny Robinson and fourth place finisher Archie Flynn along with Paquette should have a barnburner of a race for the championship.


Checkered Flag Productions “Sportsman of the Year” recipient was Troy Degaton of Rio Linda. Degaton was fourth in the Pacific Sprint Car division and clearly did the most with the least in 2004.


Three “Rookie of the Year” Trophies were awarded. In the Pacific Sprint Cars, Marysville’s Brandon Dozier was the recipient. In the TCS Stock Car division, Knights Landing’ s Lonnie Taylor Jr’s effort was acknowledged. The TCS Mini Stock division’s top rookie was Yuba City’s Greg Prather.


This was the best attended banquet ever. Given the number of competitors who rose to their feet with waves of applause for their fellow competitors, it could be said that everyone had a great time and TCS will head into 2005 on a very positive note. On behalf of the staff, promoters Clyde and Linda Tipton wish to thank the competitors for their participation during the 2004 season. They are looking forward to a successful 2005.


Please see the complete top ten standings in each division elsewhere in this publication or at The next event on the schedule will be our annual Racer’s Swap Meet scheduled for Saturday November 20 from 8am until 2pm. Set up opens at 6am. Call the business office for further information at 916.985.2089.


Visit the website often for information on 2005 season winter meetings, schedules and other pertinent items with regard to TCS 2005 season. 






Get your own FREE Guestbook from htmlGEAR